<u>Safety Committee</u>: The Safety Committee shall report directly to the Board and shall consist of persons approved by, and Trustees from, the newly seated Board and appointed by the Chairperson as soon as practical after the AABI Annual Meeting. This Committee shall consist of not less than five (5) members including the Vice Chairperson. The Committee shall be composed of an approximately equal number of Educator Trustees and Corporate/Trade Association Trustees, plus one each Practitioner and Public-at-Large Trustees, and up to six (6) persons who need not be members of the Board of Trustees.

The mission of the Safety Committee is to provide guidance to the AABI Board of Trustees and to AABI Committees (particularly Criteria, Guidance, and Curriculum) about safety matters related to AABI Criteria, program curricula, particularly the AABI Safety Science option and safety matters related to a safety management approach to fostering an effective safety culture in aviation programs.